A Mind Lost

Anything and everything.

Game of Thrones

So I’ve been watching the HBO adaptation of G. R. R. Martin’s “Game of Thrones”, and I have to say that, 3 episodes in I am really impressed!  I love the books, and started re-reading them a little while back (almost done with “A Feast for Crows”) in anticipation of “A Dance with Dragons” (two months to go!), and having a tv series to watch is just gravy on the ice cream cake that is A Song of Ice and Fire.

Although there are some deviations from the book, all-in-all it seems fairly accurate.  More importantly, the series retains the feel of the novels, at least for me.  Much can be forgiven when it “just feels right”.  The raised ages of just about all the more youthful characters is a bit irksome, but with the sex, nudity and profanity it was to be expected.

As far as casting goes, nothing is amiss thus far aside from a few small things.  Robert Baratheon’s not nearly fat enough, and Ser Ilyn Payne seems altogether too short from how I imagined him.  Jon Snow and Robb Stark look a little too old, as do Daenerys and Viserys.

The only other niggling detail is the Lannister twins.  Jaime and Cersei just aren’t quite twinnish enough, and while the actors portraying them are certainly handsome and beautiful, respectively, they least match the mental image I had of them.  I think it’s something wrong with their hair; where’s the golden curls?

Stealing the show, however, is my absolute favourite character of the series: Tyrion Lannister, the Imp.  While the actor portraying him, Peter Dinklage, isn’t nearly as deformed as I pictured Tyrion, he has thus far not disappointed me one bit.  In fact as I watch the show I look forward to his appearances with great anticipation.  I just love the character so much, and I doff my cap to Mr. Dinklage… dude’s just awesome, from the voice and accent to the body language, he has nailed Tyrion in a way that I didn’t think would be possible.  The Wikipedia page mentions several quotes of people suggesting he get an Emmy for this role, and I’d wholeheartedly agree if I didn’t think all the awards (Emmy, Grammy, Oscar, Dopey, Sleepy, and all the others) were little more than popularity contests.

The series has already been picked up for a second season, which is great news and brings me some small joy in the wake of Stargate: Universe‘s cancellation, and the upcoming ending of both Supernatural and Smallville.

It’s also pretty cool to see Sean Bean again.  I am not familiar with his work before and beyond The Lord of the Rings, but really did like his portrayal of Boromir.  And then there’s Jason Momoa, aka Ronon from Stargate: Atlantis, as Khal Drogo; he pulls of the stoic look perfectly for the character.  The makeup’s a bit much, though.  Makes him look like a nancy boy.

Leave a Reply

