A Mind Lost

Anything and everything.

How I Miss Thee, Weapons Factory

I used to play Quake 2 Weapons Factory, and I loved it.  It was the best mod for Q2.  I came across the YouTube page of one of the other fellas who used to play, Rom; he has videos of some of the demo recordings he made during WF’s twilight years.  Naturally, I nostalgia’d, hard.

Mostly I miss the people who played.  Tonnes of great guys (and a few gals) who I don’t have opportunity to talk to much any more.  If any of you come across this, you’ll know who you are.  Particularly there was (*) Nabaroth, Scarab, Sam, Nereq, GenNuisance, Rom, Zombie, Mort, nolegs, nospam, Lorsen, Moxi, Mavi, (I’m struggling to remember names after all these years), Madhatter, Riptcage, and even Ace2k that little bastard.  If you remember Guln, then you’re probably somewhere on that list too.  Really, there were far too many great people who I got to play with to recall.

I should dig up all the demos I have and see about making videos out of them.  It would be nice if we could get some sort of a revival going, but after a few failed attempts over the last few years, I just can’t see that happening.  Sadface.

I wanted to throw a screenshot up, but can’t seem to find the disc I burnt my Q2 files to.

Update March 2016

This is, by far, my most commented on post out of all the crap I blather about.  It’s a treat to still get comments five years after posting it, and ten years after I quit playing WF.  I never did find that disc I burned, though I’m pretty sure it’s around here somewhere; it’s past time I dug the damn thing up and relived some of my best years of gaming.

To everyone who has left a comment, and those that may in the future, thank you.  Even if I never got to play with you, that you were a part of such an enjoyable experience earns my appreciation regardless.

(*) I’m going to add more names as I remember them, or if they chance to comment and refresh my memory, down here.  If I miss someone, it’s not by intent.  Honestly, the whole WF community was an awesome bunch, and I enjoyed every minute I spent with you guys!

Impugn, Spectre, Lonedust (or was that Ronedust? 🙂 )

22 responses to “How I Miss Thee, Weapons Factory

  1. Tate Austin 2017/06/15 at 3:58 pm

    So you may appreciate this; I’m likely to have a bachelor party that features a lot of classic Q2 mods like weapons factory. I’m trying to compile all archives of classic mods I can find to orchestrate a night of drinking and shooting.

  2. Michael Will 2016/11/22 at 2:36 pm

    Go check http://q2wf.com
    Most of the needed files (if not all) are there and I believe a link to server that is usually up is there as well.
    I went in and played for a couple of hours against the bots. Once I got some grapple monkey skillz going again, I began remembering some olf strats on certain maps and started capping like a mad f00g.

    The wife was like “HOneeeeeeeeeeeeee! Are you playing a game?111??!?!!” So I quickly logged out and lied my arse off, lol…

  3. Hose Head 2016/06/26 at 4:38 pm

    Wow! this brings back memories of why I failed college chemistry. So many mornings watching the sun come up because I had list track of time playing WF. I remember lots of those names. I was Buttonhooked initially then SGT York. Played with most of those names above and also remember the Aussie GI Jane. Great times and Q2 version was the best. Rock on!

    • Drew Perkins 2016/09/10 at 11:49 pm

      was telling my friends about how great this game was and googled it. played as dirt. was in CC and some other clans. mountain biking has become my drug of choice and haven’t gamed much at all in the last 10 years. Glad to see the memory is still alive.

  4. Bill Lamkin 2016/03/31 at 8:02 pm

    Oh man, I just found this post when talking with a coworker about this mod, I was [RQM]Tom Servo. What a fun game/amazing community surrounding the mod.

  5. floggersg 2016/03/21 at 3:41 pm

    Miss that game! I was floggerSG as well back in those days

  6. edobroekman 2015/08/15 at 5:57 am

    Hey guys. Loved Q2WF!! Great game/class design and had was a fantastic community and clans. Really the one game where on most public servers there was very good teamplay – and people would help newcomers. Where do you go for something like that these day?

    I had the pleasure of contributing with a series of maps (such as 2Strong and 0Fear) and being part of an awesome clan (]II[). With Q3 being open source… it’s so tempting to bring something class-based back! Q3 is still enjoyable to look at and play. The TF2 stuff doesn’t appeal somehow.

    Edo aka B=Ware

  7. Keith Perkins 2014/11/19 at 12:27 am

    i came across this page when i google searched for quake 2 weapons factory.

    yeah, i concur with people who say that that game and mod had the right blend of gameplay….it was fluid but still interesting. i used to play all the time and i remember when new map packs were coming out and the servers would rotate them.

    to me this game epitomized teamwork in the sense that classes supported each other and also played off opponents weaknesses.

    in the end, when it devolved to just sniper matches i moved on….but the intense large team battles were fun!

  8. Greg Boulay 2014/06/23 at 10:51 pm

    Hey folks. [SiN]Moxin here. I can’t believe I randomly came across this website!

    I had some friends over last winter and we LANed some matches of Q2WF. Some had played before while others for the first time. Everyone had a blast. [SiN]7th was there as well. Made for some good old times!

    I would absolutely play if anyone got something going again.

  9. a1334707 2014/04/11 at 11:55 pm

    I was/am ihavenolegs. Oh god I miss this game. Between the fast paced action from strafe jumping, grapple hook, q2 physics in general and the community (wow reading that list of names brings back memories!), getting together for weekly streetball games, I don’t think I’ll ever find another game like this.

    I still have most or all of the streetball demos sitting on a backup server somewhere along with a copy of the q2 & wf files. I too have thought about getting them captured and uploaded to youtube, but that’s a lot of work heh.

    adawn2 forever!!! (and 0fear)

    Also ript sucks ❤

    • Andrew Jones 2014/04/15 at 11:36 am

      nolegs! Wow, it’s been a long time. I still keep telling myself “someday” I’ll dust off my disc and get around to recording the demos, but I never seem to.

      I am in total agreement with you. Everything about the Q2 engine was balanced just right. And if I remember right, it was you and spammy who first showed me how to grappel slingshot, one night while we were waiting for more people to show up.

      In all my years of gaming (and that’s a lot), no game has ever come close to WF in pure, unadulterated enjoyment. It was the community of players, even more than the game, that made it great. The number of headshots I took from you…

      And yes, Ript sucks. Hard. Haha. 🙂

    • Mike Meyer (@mikemey01) 2014/05/08 at 4:56 pm

      Your sniping was unprecedented – I remember playing against you many years ago! So much fun I would love if someone put a server back up. I’ve been getting my fix with tastyspleen’s q2dm servers but it’s just not the same.

  10. Scott Alexander 2012/12/20 at 1:46 am

    I sure miss that game…

  11. Scott Alexander 2012/06/24 at 12:47 am

    OH my gosh… I played this so freaking much

    I was in Clan Au, was Au-War

    I tried getting the files recently for it, and with fileplanet going down, I can’t get the mappacks. I miss it so much.

    Anyone have access to them?

  12. dallasstb 2011/10/24 at 4:18 pm

    Hey bud. I remember those names as well. Myself – I was Talon back in the Q2 WF days. What a great game. But as great as the game was, it was the community that really rocked. Remember PCI? CC? UA? I used to scrim with all those boys. Man oh man…

    Slipping into nostalgia-ville……

    Later.

    • Andrew Jones 2011/10/25 at 9:42 am

      I remember PCI, and CC I think… but UA’s not familiar. A lot of great players jumped ship to Q3Arena shortly after I started playing but before I really got to know what was left of the community.

      • Michael Will 2016/10/13 at 11:07 am

        UA was one of the first big name clans, one of their more well known players was Crow.

        It is so awesome to see some of these names again!

        I was with Legacy and played mostly as 1of13. Legacy managed to take the crown from =PCI= and hold on to it for a little while, led by Twitch and Snowcrash. My ping usually sucked in those days but I did get to play in a few championship matches… The competition in those days, especially with =PCI=, was insane.

        My brother is Menatour, I think he was with Carnage Cowboys =CC= for awhile. We flew up to Minnesota, I think it was, for a LAN party hosted by =PCI=… man oh man, GOOD times! ..even though American Airlines trashed the hell out of our PCs on the return flight =( it was still worth it!

        Long Live q2wf!

        • Michael Will 2016/10/17 at 9:32 am

          Some of the bigger named clans I remember:
          Legacy
          =PCI= (Wumpscut is, unfortunately, the only name I remember nowdays but there was so many good players in that clan, I think they approached my brother one time but he wound up with =CC=).
          =UA= (Malestorm/Maelstrom [?], Crow)
          =CC=
          Infernal Seraphs
          BoA
          Thundercats
          ]II[
          =SLJ=

          There was also that one guy who played gunner all the time and was a real jerk, can’t remember the name but I think his clan was “TOSS” or something like that and he spammed ‘Toss my Salad” all the time; everyone really went out of their way to kill him.

  13. impugn1 2011/09/12 at 10:19 am

    I remember you and pretty much every name on that list. I was “impugn”. Good times.

    They’ll never remake the game because what made it great (substance over style…bland and non-distracting environments letting players concentrate on kicking ass) is what will prevent it from being remade.

    I fired up the old game not too long ago. Had a server running in the house. Wanted to show my boy some of my FPS roots. Fun enough, but two players really didn’t cut it.

    Take it easy. impugn-at=comcast#d0t*net

    • Andrew Jones 2011/09/12 at 5:05 pm

      Holy Moly, Impugn! I can’t believe I forgot to add your name in the list o’ people! Hope you’re well… hm, not sure if it notifies you when I reply to a comment. Anyway… I agree with you about it being remade, Q3A:WF was nowhere near as enjoyable as the original.

      • impugn1 2013/03/11 at 9:27 pm

        Talk about conversations with gaps, but I have a memory like an elephant…anyway…

        Hey! I was just doing a random “Quake 2 Weapons Factory” Google (reinstalling my PC’s) and found this:

        http://q2servers.com/

        It is an up to date list of LIVE Q2 servers.

        They have a thick app you can use, too:

        http://r-1.ch/qsb-beta3.zip

        Here I am checking on a random Monday night and there appear to be about 50 people playing. One server is almost full @ 15/16 players…heh.

        Anyway, I want to get some Q2WF games (with actual opponents) in with my boy. Will get it setup sometime this week (I imagine I have a lot of bindings to rewrite…heh). Maybe I’ll see you there. I’ll be Impugn, as always. You have my email addy from above if you want to reach me.

        Later! 🙂

        • Andrew Jones 2013/03/12 at 7:03 pm

          I looked through the server list, but didn’t see any running WF. While it would be nice, I think at this point playing a game I haven’t touched in almost 10 years would be more frustrating than enjoyable anyway.

Leave a Reply

