A Mind Lost

Anything and everything.

DC Universe Offline

Since DCUO recently went free-to-play, I figured I’d give it a try.  I recall being excited a year ago when the game was nearing release, but ended up passing on it because the reviews I read around launch weren’t particularly praiseworthy.

I started the install last night, 15GB worth, and did manage to play for a bit today.  I figured the game might be enjoyable enough that I paused to purchase the “Fight for the Light” DLC, which opens up a Green Lantern template.  This also upgrades the account to a Premium free account.

Then things went to hell.

I haven’t been able to log in and play for more than about 15 minutes, once, in the last few hours I’ve off-and-on been trying.  When I did manage to get back in, my character was stuck in the ground and unable to move.  I messed around for a bit, then got booted as the server was brought down.

For a game that’s been out for the better part of a year, this is laughably sad.  I understand that their “subscribers” has increased by a significant number since moving to F2P, but it’s ridiculous that the servers cannot handle this load.  It’s not difficult to see why they had to try a F2P model to pick up some more players (and money) if this is the level of performance the subscribers have been receiving.

Unfortunately, the only impression it has left on me is that it should have been designed as a linear or sandboxed single-player game.  The arcade-like controls are kind of a novelty in an MMO, but it’s non-intuitive.  Textures and models are bland, but the world looks pretty nice.

So far, I’d rate DCUO a 3/10.  This number might be higher, if I could actually play.

2 responses to “DC Universe Offline

  1. Akash Patil 2011/12/11 at 3:35 am

    Hey plz tell me whr i would find a activation key ?

Leave a Reply

