A Mind Lost

Anything and everything.

Random Surfing Leads to Familiar Places

For a while now I’ve been tempted to try to put together a retro-gaming PC (I’ve also been kicking my own ass for getting rid of so much great – and perfectly functional – hardware that I’m now interested in buying again, such as my AWE64 Gold, or 3dfx Voodoo 3… damn damn damn).  Playing with MS/FreeDOS in a VM, and with DOSbox, is fun, but it doesn’t compare with having the real thing chugging away next to your desk.

While refreshing my memory of the good old days and brushing up on the state of emulation with regards to 16-bit realmode OSs, I came across the OS/2 Museum, which has an absolute ton of fascinating, if useless (to any but the nerdiest of computer nerds) information.

As an aside, the author of OS/2 Museum is one Michal Necasek, a name that tickles at the back of my memory.  I know the name, but I’m not certain where from.  I think he was fairly active on the Watcom USENET groups right around the time they were preparing to open source it, but I could be mistaken.  I’ve been meaning to ask, but time has a way of getting away from me.

Anyway, links lead to reading, which leads to more links, and more reading, until I found myself on a fairly plain page on this web site.  It’s about the DESQview multitasking software for DOS, and a few other bits of software written by QuarterDeck, including QEMM.  And lo’, long forgotten by myself, there is my tiny contribution to the page, as I am the selfsame Andrew who contributed QEMM 97.

That must have been well over a decade ago, as I don’t remember frequenting comp.os.msdos.desqview much (if at all) after finally making the switch from MS-DOS/Windows 98 to Windows XP back around 2002/2003.  I’m really surprised that page is still up, as a lot of the links  I came across that supposedly contained The Good Stuff (neat old programs, that is) more often lead to a 404.

Life’s funny sometimes.  I went looking for a bit of information on the feasibility of scratching a particularly pointless itch, and find myself “virtually” bumping into a familiar name and a familiar place, both almost forgotten.

Oh, and if you’re interested in old hardware, old operating systems, or just looking for something interesting to read, definitely check out OS/2 museum.

One last thing. While poking around, I found out Vernon D. Buerg passed away in December of ’09.  Like a lot of PC geeks who grew up in the 90’s (and 80’s, I suppose), “Vern”‘s LIST program was a mandatory part of my toolbox for years and years.  Needless to say, I was quite saddened when I found out, and worse that he passed 6 years ago and I never saw anything about it.  I’m surprised it never made it to Slashdot (at least a quick Google didn’t turn up any hits).  I’m also more than a little disappointed.

Leave a Reply

